Archive for the ‘Car Accident’ Category

Can My Car Accident Settlement Exceed the At-Fault Driver’s Insurance Coverage?

Monday, November 14th, 2022

At MLG Injury, our personal injury attorneys represent clients in Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. Each state has a specific set of minimum vehicle insurance requirements, and laws that state how injury victims can pursue additional expenses that result from the liable policyholder’s negligence.

Here is what you need to know about expenses that go beyond the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage limits, and how our personal injury lawyers can help you pursue the best outcome for your unique case.

How Can I Recover Damages that Exceed a Negligent Driver’s Insurance Coverage Limits in Florida?

Florida vehicle owners must carry a minimum of continuous insurance coverage, even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable.

That includes $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which pays for injuries sustained in an accident regardless of who was at fault in the crash, and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability, which pays for the damage to other people’s property, up to the policy limits.

$10,000 is not going to go very far during a personal injury claim, especially if you have sustained serious injuries during a crash. In these cases, our Florida personal injury attorneys will review your insurance coverage and pursue your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage for the additional amount of damages you incurred.

In some cases, the state may require a driver to carry Bodily Injury Liability coverage if he or she has previously been in an accident or committed certain traffic violations. This additional coverage pays for the injured party’s medical bills and/or lost income over the minimum requirement of $10,000, which is commonly issued at a maximum of $100,000 per person, and up to $300,000 per accident.

We will review all potential recovery options, so you can pursue the best outcome for your Florida personal injury claim.

How Can I Recover Damages that Exceed a Negligent Driver’s Insurance Coverage Limits in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, the minimum vehicle insurance requirement for bodily injury is only $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Like Florida’s limits, it will not take long for a serious injury claim to exhaust the liable party’s insurance coverage limits.

Just as a Florida injury victim might, Louisiana car accident injury victims may pursue their uninsured/underinsured coverage for the difference in their financial recovery needs. We will explore your insurance coverage, and pursue your claim directly with your insurance provider, so you have access to the financial settlement you need to get your life back on track.

How Can I Recover Damages that Exceed a Negligent Driver’s Insurance Coverage Limits in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, the minimum vehicle insurance requirement is $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.

Like Florida and Louisiana, our personal injury attorneys would look toward your uninsured/underinsured coverage to pay for your damages if the at-fault driver in your accident their policy’s coverage limits do not cover all your damages.

What Happens If I Do Not Have Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Although it is an intelligent way to protect yourself if you are ever injured in a collision with a hit-and-run, uninsured, or underinsured driver, Florida, Louisiana, or Mississippi do not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

In cases where this coverage is not available, and there is no other umbrella policy to pursue, you will have to pursue the individual’s personal finances/property for financial recovery by filing a legal claim against him or her directly. We can help you explore each of your financial recovery options, starting with a free consultation.

Contact our skilled Louisiana, Mississippi, or Florida car accident attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help you pursue the negligent party that caused your injuries, so you can make informed decisions about your case and get your life back on track.

What are the Most Common Causes of Fatal Car Accidents?

Monday, August 29th, 2022

At MLG Injury, our car accident attorneys in Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi know that across the nation last year, there were over five million police-reported car accidents.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has released its early estimate of traffic fatalities for 2021. The NHTSA projects that an estimated 42,915 people died in motor vehicle traffic crashes last year, a 10.5% increase from the 38,824 fatalities in 2020.

This is the highest fatality rate in 16 years.

Our dedicated auto accident lawyers believe knowledge is power, and the more drivers know about the causes of fatal vehicle collisions in the U.S., the more prepared they will be to help prevent them.

What are the Most Common Causes of Auto Accident Fatalities in the U.S.?

The NHTSA lists the highest car accident risks that lead to crashes with fatalities include:

  • Speeding
  • Alcohol or drug-impaired driving
  • Distracted driving
  • Failure to obey traffic signs and signals
  • Drowsy driving
  • Reckless driving
  • Vehicle defects
  • Improper turns
  • Unsafe lane changes
  • Wrong-way driving

As negligence continues to be a factor on our roadways, people are going to continually lose their lives in collisions that could have been prevented.

These tragedies occur without notice and leave the surviving family members devastated. If you have suffered the tragic loss of a loved one in a car accident in Florida, Mississippi, or Louisiana, you may be eligible to file a wrongful death claim against the liable party who caused the crash.

Who is Eligible to File a Wrongful Death Claim in Florida, Mississippi, or Louisiana?

Each state has specific wrongful death statutes that allow eligible surviving family members to pursue varying financial recovery options for the damages they have suffered from the loss of their loved one.

The Florida Wrongful Death Statute states the family member who is eligible to pursue a wrongful death claim is often the beneficiary named in the deceased’s will. If a beneficiary does not exist, the court will appoint a representative, which may include the deceased’s spouse, children, or parents.

The Mississippi Wrongful Death Statute states the personal representative of the deceased person’s estate, the surviving spouse, the surviving parents or children of the deceased person, and any surviving siblings of the deceased person. There can be only one wrongful death lawsuit for the death, but all eligible people listed can join in the lawsuit.

The Louisiana Wrongful Death Statute states if the deceased was married or has children, the surviving spouse or children of the deceased person can file the claim. If he or she was not married or has no children, the surviving parent(s) can file the claim. If there is no spouse, children, or parents, the surviving siblings of the deceased person can file the claim. If there is no spouse, children, parents, or siblings, the surviving grandparents of the deceased person can file the claim. If there are no surviving family members, the estate of the deceased person can bring the claim to court.

Contact Our Auto Accident and Wrongful Death Attorneys in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana for a Free Consultation Today

If you have lost a loved one in a traffic collision caused by a negligent driver, contact our skilled car accident and wrongful death attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help you pursue justice on their behalf.

Please contact our Florida personal injury attorneys for more legal help at MLG Injury.

Related Links:

Can Traffic Camera Footage Help Prove Negligence After a Car Accident?

Monday, August 15th, 2022

At MLG Injury, our Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi auto accident attorneys know that driving under the influence, speeding, and seatbelt nonuse are the top behaviors that lead to car accident deaths throughout the United States.

While each of these fatality causes is preventable, traffic collisions still occur because of these behaviors every day throughout the country.

When determining negligence, which is necessary to pursue the damages caused by the crash, our Florida auto accident lawyers will investigate the collision using the police report, witness statements, vehicle damage, and a crash site analysis to get the full scope of how the accident occurred and who was responsible.

There is also a viable resource that can pinpoint the cause of the crash without opinion or bias: video footage.

How Can MLG Injury Obtain Video Footage from a Crash Scene?

To be clear, not all accidents are caught on camera. However, there is more video surveillance footage available in 2022 than there was before, including that captured by public, private, and government-owned cameras.

Some of the most common video footage that may tell the story of your accident may include:

  • Traffic cameras
  • Gas station cameras
  • ATM cameras
  • Vehicle recording devices
  • Doorbell cameras
  • Business or home video surveillance cameras
  • Cellphone footage purposefully or inadvertently captured by witnesses.

If you have been injured in a collision in Florida, Mississippi, or Louisiana, contact the police right away to ensure a police report is completed at the crash scene and filed. This will provide the exact time, date, and location of the crash, which will allow our skilled auto accident attorneys to scour the area for potential video footage.

Once we determine there is evidence that can help prove negligence occurred during the accident, we will legally research, request, and review the video footage from the owner, with their permission.

It will then be presented as part of our case during settlement negotiations with the insurance company or while at trial to pursue the best outcome for our clients’ auto accident and injury claims.

Contact Our Dedicated Car Accident Lawyer in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana for a Free Consultation Today

Contact our skilled auto accident attorneys in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how our Florida personal injury lawyers can help build your personal injury case for success.

Related Links:

What Happens When Minor Florida Vehicle Accidents Cause Major Medical Problems?

Monday, June 20th, 2022

At MLG Injury, our Florida auto accident attorneys know that no two vehicle collisions are the same, and neither are the injuries that result.

Even a seemingly minor collision — including a rear-end collision that happened at a low speed, or a side-swipe crash that caused a vehicle to veer off the road — can cause significant, even permanent injuries to the vehicle’s occupants.

Here is what Florida residents need to know about their financial recovery options after they have been hurt in a collision with a negligent driver.

What are the Most Common Injuries Associated with Car Accidents in Florida?

There is nothing common about being hurt by a negligent driver. Although vehicle collisions can share common injuries, your case will be built based on how your injuries affect your livelihood and overall quality of life.

Some major injuries that result from minor vehicle collisions may include:

  • Soft tissue damage, including whiplash
  • Ligament, muscle, and joint damage
  • Broken bones that do not heal properly, or require multiple surgeries
  • Head injuries, including Traumatic Brain Injuries
  • Neck and spine damage
  • Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome

The reality is, even when accident injuries are seemingly straightforward, the complications will differ for each party. If two different people suffer a broken leg in two different collisions, their lives may be impacted in diverse ways. For instance, if you are a construction worker or a server in a restaurant, you are not going to be able to work for some time after the crash. This may be different for an office worker, who can ask for reasonable accommodations that allow them to return to work sooner.

No matter your injuries, if you have been hurt in a crash caused by a negligent driver, you have rights. Our skilled Florida car accident attorneys can help enforce them, so you can seek the compensation you are entitled to for your injuries.

You Have Rights After Being Injured in a Vehicle Collision Caused by a Negligent Driver

According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle statistics, there were over 401,000 traffic collisions throughout the state last year alone. These collisions resulted in nearly 237,000.

If you have been injured by a negligent driver in Florida, you have the right to pursue a personal injury claim against the liable driver.

Partnering with a skilled car accident attorney in Florida can help you pursue the financial recovery options that will help get your life back on track.

Contact Our Dedicated Car Accident Lawyers in Florida for a Free Consultation

Contact our experienced Florida personal injury attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help you pursue the liable party’s insurance coverage for your complete financial recovery.

Can I Pursue a Personal Injury Claim as an Injured Passenger in a Florida Car Crash?

Monday, June 6th, 2022

At MLG Injury, our Florida car accident attorneys know that when negligence is a factor on our roadways, everyone inside the vehicle is in danger. That includes the driver and their passengers.

When a driver’s negligence impacts their passenger’s safety — or that of another vehicle’s occupants — those who are hurt have the right to pursue compensation from the at-fault driver for their injuries.

Here are the steps passengers must take after a collision, to ensure their best interests are at the forefront of their recovery.

Call 911 and Request Law Enforcement Report to the Scene of the Crash

If you are a passenger that has been hurt in a vehicle collision, and your injuries allow, call the police right away to ensure they report to the scene.

Once law enforcement arrives, allow them to complete a police report, so you have evidence that the collision occurred, and their professional opinion regarding the details — including who was potentially at fault.

Record Each Driver’s Important Information

Even if the driver of the vehicle you were in caused the crash, you will need to take down his or her contact information, including their driver’s license, registration, and insurance information.

Do not assume the driver will accept responsibility for the crash later. Get all their details upfront.

If there were another driver — or drivers — involved in the crash, take down each person’s vital information, in case you need it going forward. It is better to have too much information than not enough.

If witnesses remained behind at the scene, collect their contact information and version of events, too. This can be useful later if there is a dispute regarding liability.

Seek Medical Care Right Away After the Crash

Your well-being is paramount after a crash, which requires seeking medical care right away. The sooner you visit a professional physician — either during an emergency room or scheduled visit — the quicker your injuries can be diagnosed, and a treatment plan put in place.

Follow all physician’s orders going forward.

Contact Our Skilled Florida Car Accident Attorneys for Help

At MLG Injury, our Florida personal injury lawyers will provide the legal guidance you need to pursue the best outcome for your car accident claim.

That includes outlining the cause of the collision and identifying the liable party or parties who are responsible for your medical costs, lost wages, and the additional expenses that resulted from the crash.

As a passenger, you had no control over the actions of the negligent driver who caused the crash — even if that driver was operating the vehicle you were riding in.

Our dedicated car accident lawyers in Florida will pursue the responsible party’s insurance coverage for your complete financial recovery, so you can get your life back on track.

Contact our experienced Florida car accident attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help with your case.

If we do not produce a positive outcome for your personal injury claim, you do not pay our legal fees. Contact us now to learn more.

Request A Free Case Evaluation


We’d love to help you get started today!