Archive for the ‘Insurance Claim’ Category

Should I Alert My Auto Insurance Company If I Am Hurt by Another Florida Driver’s Negligence?

Monday, May 23rd, 2022

At MLG Injury, our Florida car accident attorneys know that there is often a lot of confusion surrounding who is responsible for a vehicle collision, and whose insurance company is liable for the damages that resulted.

In Florida, two things are true when it comes to a car crash with injuries.

First, Florida is also a “No-Fault” auto accident state, which means the driver who is hurt in the crash is expected to turn to his or her car insurance policy for damages, regardless of who caused the accident.

To complicate matters, Florida follows the “Pure Comparative Negligence” system.

That means when there is a vehicle collision, multiple parties can share fault, and the damages are apportioned between the parties based on their percentage of fault.

So, what exactly does a Florida auto insurance policy cover after a crash with injuries?

Florida’s Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements

Florida requires all automobile drivers to have the following insurance coverage:

  • $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
  • $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL)

Florida does not require drivers to carry bodily damage liability coverage.

This typically means that the injured party must turn to their personal insurance coverage after a crash first.

When the mere $10,000 for medical care is quickly exhausted, the injured party may pursue the liable driver up to the percentage of which he or she was at fault.

For example, if the injured person was only 20% liable for the crash, the other driver must cover the other 80% of the expenses.

Should I Call My Insurance Company As Soon As a Florida Car Accident Occurs?

The first thing anyone should do after a vehicle collision in Florida is call the police.


  • If your injuries allow, do not leave the scene of the crash until law enforcement arrives.
  • Collect evidence from the scene, including the other driver’s license, registration, and insurance information.
  • Record any third-party witness statements and contact information.
  • Take photographs of the scene, all vehicles involved, and write down details of the crash.
  • Seek medical care immediately to ensure all your injuries are accounted for, and a medical care plan is put in place.
  • Notify your insurance company, but DO NOT give any statements before speaking with an attorney.

If you have been injured in a vehicle collision, contact our skilled Florida personal injury attorneys today to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue each avenue of compensation for your injuries.

Contact Our Experienced Car Accident Lawyers in Florida for a Free Consultation

Contact our experienced Florida auto accident attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help you pursue the liable party’s insurance coverage for your complete financial recovery.

Should I Share My Medical Records with the Insurance Company?

Monday, February 21st, 2022

At MLG Injury, our Florida personal injury attorneys know that the key to each of our client’s successes — inside and outside the courtroom — is proving they suffered physical damages during a vehicle collision, slip and fall incident, at-work accident, or another injurious circumstance.

That proof will come directly from our client’s medical records, which reflect their overall short- and long-term treatment needs and their physician’s care recommendations.

In short, medical records are the cornerstone of your personal injury case.

This fact also makes your medical records valuable to the insurance company.

Here is why.

Sharing Your Medical Records with the Insurance Company Can Damage Your Florida Personal Injury Claim

After a car accident or another personal injury occurs in Florida, the negligent party’s insurance company will immediately try to contact you.

Not only will they try to get you to take some form of responsibility for the accident, but they may explain that the only way they can evaluate your injuries and pay your claim is to see your medical records. This is misleading.

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, or HIPAA, states that no one including an insurance company can view your medical information without your written permission.

To get around this important law, insurance companies may provide documents they say require your signature to move forward with a claim. This, too, maybe misleading, as they could contain a waiver that releases your complete medical records.

Why Should I Keep My Medical Records From the Insurance Company?

Along with your accident and injury medical records, the insurance company may gain access to your complete medical history, including that which is not associated with the crash.

That means they will have access to your past illnesses or injuries and will use that information to blame your current medical problems on pre-existing conditions or previous injuries to avoid paying your full financial recovery needs.

The insurance company is going to do all it can to undervalue or deny your personal injury claim. Providing access to your medical records will only help support their side of the argument. We can help you avoid this common mistake.

Contact Our Experienced Personal Injury Lawyers in Florida for a Free Consultation

Contact our experienced Florida personal injury attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling 888-904-2524 to learn how we can help you pursue the liable party’s insurance coverage for your complete financial recovery.

Request A Free Case Evaluation

We’d love to help you get started today!