Rideshare Accident

Skilled Rideshare Accident Attorneys in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana

At MLG Injury, our rideshare accident lawyers know how much our residents depend on transportation services like Uber and Lyft, among others available state to state, to traverse congested areas, avoid parking fees, and get around safely as residents and visitors in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana.

The problem is, when negligence is a factor, rideshare vehicles are even more likely to be involved in a collision than other vehicles, which can place unsuspecting drivers, passengers, and other third parties in harm’s way without notice.

Distracted driving — one of the most threatening forms of negligence on our roadways — by rideshare drivers is a growing concern across the state.

That is because Uber, Lyft, and other drivers spend an overwhelming amount of time interacting with their cellphones to accept passengers, navigating maps to reach them, and locating them when they arrive.

If you have been injured in an accident as a rideshare driver, passenger, or another third-party who was hit by a negligent rideshare driver, our skilled personal injury lawyers in Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana can help you pursue the proper party — or combination of parties — for your full financial recovery. Contact MLG Injury today to learn more.

Our Florida personal injury lawyers represent clients in the following practice areas throughout the state:

Who Can Be Held Liable for a Rideshare Accident with Injuries in Florida, Mississippi & Louisiana?

With the popularity of rideshare transportation skyrocketing over the past decade, there is no surprise that a sharp rise in U.S. traffic deaths followed. By most accounts, rideshare drivers were responsible for an up to 3% increase in overall car accident fatalities in the U.S. since its inception.

The larger question becomes, who is liable for the damages when rideshare accidents, injuries, or fatalities occur?

The answer is more complicated than most drivers, riders, and third parties might think.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners has established four levels of liability — levels zero through three — for rideshare accidents in Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana, and across the country.

Level Zero: The initial level zero is when the rideshare driver is behind the wheel of their vehicle, without the rideshare app enabled. During this time, the rideshare driver is legally viewed as any other driver whose personal insurance policy applies to all damages caused in an accident, per their state laws.

For liability purposes, all Florida drivers must carry the minimum required insurance coverage outlined by Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, which includes:

  • $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which pays for injuries sustained in an accident regardless of who was at fault in the crash.
  • $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL), which pays for the damage to other people’s property.

For liability purposes, all Mississippi drivers must carry the minimum required insurance coverage outlined by the Mississippi Insurance Department, which includes:

  • $25,000 bodily injury protection per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury protection per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident.

For liability purposes, all Louisiana drivers must carry the minimum required insurance coverage outlined by the Louisiana Department of Insurance, which includes:

  • $15,000 bodily injury protection for one person.
  • $30,000 bodily injury protection for more than one person in a single accident.
  • $25,000 coverage for property damage per accident.

Level One: The next level of liability is level one. This applies to rideshare drivers who have their Uber, Lyft, or other corporate apps enabled, but have yet to accept a ride request.

Under these circumstances, the rideshare company carries limited liability, which may include policy limits of:

  • Liability Per Person Injured: $50,000
  • Total Injury Liability Per Accident: $100,000
  • Liability for Property Damage: $50,000

Level Two: When a rideshare driver accepts a ride request but has yet to pick up the passenger, he or she is officially employed by the rideshare company.

The rideshare company’s insurance policy may apply after an accident up to the $1 million coverage limit.

Level Three: Like level two, level three involves an employed rideshare driver, although the classification applies after he or she has picked up a passenger.

The rideshare company’s insurance policy remains at the same liability amount, up to the $1 million coverage limit.

At MLG Injury, our skilled rideshare accident attorneys understand that proving who was responsible for the crash, no matter where you live — and whose insurance coverage applies to our client’s damages — is complex. That is why we are here: To remove the challenges associated with pursuing a successful personal injury claim, whether you were a rideshare driver, rideshare passenger, or another third party who was injured in the collision.

Contact Our Experienced Rideshare Accident & Injury Lawyers for a Free Consultation

Contact our experienced Florida, Mississippi, and Louisiana rideshare accident attorneys at MLG Injury to schedule a free consultation today by calling (786) 206-8807 to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue the liable party who caused your vehicle collision and injuries for your full financial recovery.

Request A Free Case Evaluation


We’d love to help you get started today!